Sheriff's Office

Mission Statement
It is the mission of the Steele County Sheriff's Office to serve all people within our jurisdiction with respect, fairness, and compassion. The men and women of the Steele County Sheriff's Office are dedicated to provide our citizens and visitors with a safe environment to live, work, and play.

We are committed to the protection of life and property; the preservation of peace, order and safety; the enforcement of local, state, and federal laws; and the defense of the Constitution of the State of North Dakota and the Constitution of the United States of America in a fair and impartial manner. We strive for excellence by providing our employees with a positive, supportive, and professional environment which promotes innovative and creative thinking. The Steele County Sheriff's Office shall continue to provide service of the highest quality to its citizens and build partnerships to resolve community problems.


Sheriff Wayne Beckman (1994 - present)
County Sheriffs in the State of North Dakota are elected every four years. The current Sheriff in Steele County is Wayne Beckman. Sheriff Beckman has been in Law Enforcement for 39 years beginning as a Dispatcher/Corrections Officer part time before graduating the Law Enforcement Academy in 1987.