Griggs-Steele Empowerment Zone

Griggs-Steele Empowerment Zone

The Griggs-Steele Empowerment Zone is located in the eastern part of North Dakota. The Empowerment Zone includes all of Steele County and one census tract in Griggs County. The communities of Cooperstown, Hannaford and Binford are included in the Griggs County census tract.

The Empowerment Zone and Enterprise Community program is designed to afford communities real opportunities for growth and revitalization. The framework of the program is embodied in four key principles, which are found in our Mission Statement:

  1. To increase population while maintaining rural values and lifestyles
  2. To enhance community facilities and services to support revitalization
  3. To end out-migration
  4. To invigorate and diversify the economy

Vision Statement
We envision a future where our friends and children no longer have to leave in order to make a satisfying life for themselves.