Steele County Information

Steele County was created from portions of Griggs and Traill counties by the 1883 territorial legislature. It was named for Edward H. Steele of Minneapolis, Minnesota (1846-1899). Edward Steele was secretary-treasurer of the Red River Land Company, which was largely responsible for the county’s establishment.

Previous county seats were Hope from 1883 to 1885 and Sherbrooke from 1885 to 1919. Since 1919, the county seat has been Finley.

To view demographic information on Steele County, please visit the U.S. Census Bureau website.